Depending on the location where you received your WI traffic ticket, you may be able to pay your ticket fine online, by mail, by phone, or in person. To fight your traffic ticket, you'll need to plead “not guilty," which you may be able to do by mail or using the Off The Record app.
FINES & PENALTIES
Traffic fines in Wisconsin vary by violation and by county court. If you do not pay on time, you will be charged additional late fees. Refer to your traffic ticket to determine your exact ticket amount, deadlines, and penalties.
If you're convicted of a serious violation, you could receive an automatic driver’s license suspension.
Some major violations include:
- Reckless driving.
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol.
- Not carrying adequate car insurance.
COURT SURCHARGES
In addition to the traffic ticket fines you receive, your Wisconsin traffic court may also impose surcharges and fees depending on your violation. Here are some examples of additional surcharges you may have to pay:
- Court support services fee: $68.
- Court cost: $25.
- Crime lab and drug assessment: $13
- Driver improvement surcharge: $365 for all driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs (DUI) infractions.
- Truck driver education fee: $8 (applies to commercial drivers).
MOVING VIOLATIONS
A moving violation occurs whenever a traffic law is violated by a vehicle in motion. Some examples of moving violations are speeding, running a stop sign or red light, and drunk driving. A non-moving violation, by contrast, is usually related to parking or faulty equipment.
NON-MOVING VIOLATIONS
Contrary to popular belief, non-moving violations are very often violations that occur when the car is moving. Examples of this are inattentive driving, driving while talking on a cell phone, and driving without a seat belt. What makes these violations “non-moving” isn’t what happens when they occur, but what the law says.
What separates the moving violation from the non-moving violation is the way it’s treated by the court and by the Department of Transportation (DOT). Whereas a speeding ticket is reported to the DOT, non-moving violations are not. And, in fact, some infractions are specifically ordered not to be reported to the DOT or to insurance companies.
WISCONSIN'S POINT SYSTEM
If you are convicted of a moving-traffic violation, you will receive demerit points on your driving record.
- The more demerit points you have, the more severe the penalties will be (see list below).
- Persons with a Probationary driver license are assessed double demerit points for their second and subsequent convictions.
- Courts report all moving-traffic convictions to the DMV.
Suspension of driving privilege
When you accumulate 12 or more demerit points within a 12-month period, your driving privilege will be suspended. The type of driver license you have determines the requirements and timeframe of a suspension:
If you have a probationary driver license, instruction permit or have never been issued a license:
- 12-30 points assessed – 6 month suspension
- More than 30 points assessed – 1 year suspension
If you have a regular driver license including a commercial driver license (CDL):
- 12-16 points assessed – 2 month suspension
- 17-22 points assessed – 4 month suspension
- 23-30 points assessed – 6 month suspension
- More than 30 points assessed – 1 year suspension
Reducing points
You may reduce your point total by three points for attending an approved traffic safety course. For more information and to find out if you're eligible, contact the Wisconsin DMV.
Only one reduction is allowed in a three-year period.
List of frequently assessed point violations
| Points | Regular convictions |
|---|---|
| 0 | License not in person's immediate possession |
| 0 | No registration plate light |
| 2 | Obstructing traffic |
| 2 | Parking on highway in traffic lane, defective speedometer |
| 3 | Arterial or traffic control violation |
| 3 | Driving wrong way on one way street |
| 3 | Failure to dim lights |
| 3 | Failure to give proper signal |
| 3 | Following too closely |
| 3 | Illegal passing |
| 3 | Improper brakes or lights |
| 3 | Operating with expired license or without any license |
| 3 | Operating with multiple licenses |
| 3 | Prohibited or illegal turn |
| 3 | Speeding 1 through 10 mph over limit |
| 3 | Violation of restriction |
| 3 | Operating while revoked or suspended |
| 4 | Deviating from traffic lane |
| 4 | Driving on wrong side of highway or street |
| 4 | Failure to yield right of way |
| 4 | Failure to yield to emergency vehicle |
| 4 | Imprudent driving, too fast for conditions, failure to have vehicle under control |
| 4 | Inattentive driving |
| 4 | Failure by operator to stop for school bus when red lights are flashing |
| 4 | Speeding 11 through 19 mph over limit |
| 4 | Unnecessary acceleration |
| 6 | Operating under the influence of intoxicant or drugs |
| 6 | Reckless driving or racing |
| 6 | Speeding 20 mph or more over limit |
| 6 | Violation of occupational license |
| 6 | Attempting to elude an officer |
| 6 | Failure to perform duty after accident |
| Points | Commercial motor vehicle convictions |
|---|---|
| 0 | Operating a commercial motor vehicle or being on duty time with respect to a commercial motor vehicle while having any measured alcohol concentration above 0.0 but less than 0.04 or within 4 hours of having consumed or having been under the influence of an intoxicating beverage, regardless of alcohol content |
| 0 | Operating with alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more but less than 0.08 and not causing injury |
| 3 | Possession of intoxicating beverage while operating or being on duty time with respect to a commercial motor vehicle |
| 3 | Unlawful commercial motor vehicle license or endorsement |
| 4 | Commercial speeding intermediate (15 through 19 mph over limit) |
| 6 | Operating while disqualified |
| 6 | Operating with alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more but less than 0.08 causing injury |
| 6 | Commercial speeding in excess (20 or more mph over limit) |
| Points | Motorcycle convictions |
|---|---|
| 0 | No protective headgear |
| 2 | Defective or repaired handlebars |
| 2 | More than 2 riders (operator) |
| 2 | No eye protection (operator) |
| 3 | Headlights not lit (daylight hours 0 points) |
| 3 | No cycle license |
Chapter Trans 101, Wisconsin Administrative Code provides complete details on the Wisconsin Point System.
RESPONDING TO YOUR TICKET
There are two ways to respond to your traffic ticket:
- Paying the fine
- Requesting a contested hearing
The first option is a guilty plea, while the second option, requesting a contested hearing, is another name for pleading not guilty. Regardless of plea, it must be entered before the ticket's due date.
If you do nothing, the court may issue a warrant for your arrest, or may find you guilty and suspend your driver license if you fail to pay your fine.
Paying the fine
Paying a WI traffic ticket is an admission of guilt.
This means:
- You are waiving your right to challenge the traffic ticket in court.
- Depending on your WI driving record, the Department of Transportation (DOT) may suspend your Wisconsin driver's license.
- The traffic violation may cause an increase in your car insurance rates.
To pay your ticket, mail the "deposit" amount, by your court date, with a photocopy of your citation OR your correct name and address, citation number, court appearance date listed on the citation, offense, and arresting police agency.
Make check payable to the Clerk of Court and mail it to the court address. You do not need to appear. The court will find you guilty and keep the "deposit" amount as payment for your citation.
Requesting a contested hearing
If you wish to dispute the citation, you must either appear in court or enter a "not guilty" plea by mail prior to your court date. Please include a photocopy of your ticket and your correct mailing address. This should be mailed to the court address.
You can also contest it right on your phone by using the Off The Record app.
Your trial will be before a judge, unless you demand a jury trial in writing within 10 days of the court date on your citation and enclose the proper fee. Make check payable to the Clerk of Court and forward it to the address on your ticket.
One in four tickets is issued in error, yet only 5% of drivers contest their traffic tickets.
HIRING AN ATTORNEY
Fighting your traffic ticket can help you avoid fines, license suspension, and increased insurance premiums. A traffic ticket attorney is a major asset in that fight. Typically, you can expect an attorney to:
- Request a contested hearing
- Request discovery for your case
- Represent you in court
- Negotiate with the prosecutor to have your charges dropped or reduced
- Adams
- Ashland
- Barron
- Bayfield
- Brown
- Buffalo
- Burnett
- Calumet
- Chippewa
- Clark
- Columbia
- Crawford
- Dane
- Dodge
- Door
- Douglas
- Dunn
- Eau Claire
- Florence
- Fond du Lac
- Forest
- Grant
- Green
- Green Lake
- Iowa
- Iron
- Jackson
- Jefferson
- Juneau
- Kenosha
- Kewaunee
- La Crosse
- Lafayette
- Langlade
- Lincoln
- Manitowoc
- Marathon
- Marinette
- Marquette
- Menominee
- Milwaukee
- Monroe
- Oconto
- Oneida
- Outagamie
- Ozaukee
- Pepin
- Pierce
- Polk
- Portage
- Price
- Racine
- Richland
- Rock
- Rusk
- Saint Croix
- Sauk
- Sawyer
- Shawano
- Sheboygan
- Taylor
- Trempealeau
- Vernon
- Vilas
- Walworth
- Washburn
- Washington
- Waukesha
- Waupaca
- Waushara
- Winnebago
- Wood
